Vita

 
 

Erika Matsunami * 1963 in Hiroshima, Japan, lives and works in Berlin, Germany.

She took her first lessons in japanese dance at the age of three at Fujima, Toshika (Fuhima-Ryu, Japanese traditional dance association) and later she was taught by Hanayagi, Masatoyo (Hnayagi-Ryu, Japanese traditional dance association/the founder/choreografer/artist Hanayai, Juske (1821-1903) in 1849) and completed her dance exam in 1984 and received the artist name (in Japanese Nator-meii) „Hanayagi, Hosenyu" in 1984. From 1982 to 1984 she studied Fine Art / Sculpture under Prof. Hisashi Akutagawa (Sculptor, Tokyo) et al., Faculty of Fine Arts at the Hijiyama University, Hiroshima, Japans and advanced from 1884 to 1886 she studied research study (advanced courses) sculpture under Professor Hisashi Akutagawa, Faculty of Fine Arts at the Hijiyama University, Hiroshima, Japan. During this time she was a member of Shinseisaku kyokai Hiroshima, the artists' union of fine arts in the section of sculpture. Matsunami studied German at the University of Vienna in Austria and from 1992 to 1995 the College of Fine Arts, liberal arts, the Institute KAW- Aesthetic Education / Arts and Cultural Studies (Postgraduales Studium: Institut Kulturpädagogische Arbeitsstelle für Weiterbildung – Ästhetische Erziehung / Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften/Institute for Art in Context) at the Universität der Künste Berlin (the Berlin University of the Arts) and she graduated the fine arts studies, liberal arts, the postgraduate course at the Institute - Aesthetic Education / Arts and Cultural Studies/Institute for Art in Context in 1997 under the supervision of Katharina Jedermann und Wolfgang Knapp.

Link Autor: Matsunami, Erika

 

From 2009 to 2010 Matsunami was the guest studentship (auditor) for the postgraduate artistc professional education under Honorary Professor Dr Martin Supper, composer, scientist and study programme director of the Master course in Sound Studies – Acoustic Communications at the ZIW of the UdK Berlin and head of the UNI.K – UdK l Studio for Sound Art and Sound Research the College of Music at the Universität der Künste Berlin, UdK (Berlin University of the Arts). Afterwards, from 2011 through 2012 she studied musicology for the postgraduate artistic professional education continually under Honorary Professor Dr Martin Supper, UNI.K – UdK l Studio für Klangkunst (sound art) und Klangforschung (sound research), College of Music at the the Berlin University of the Arts.


Erika Matsunami is an artist, works with transdisciplinary approach in large areas of arts with different mediums such as performance, video and sound art, photography and mixed-media installations. since 2009. Since 2000 she has been producing and developing experimental videos and visual performances. From 2000 to 2004, she was actively involved in work on the “Thikwa” berliner theatre project for the performance, choreography, mise-en-scène and video. She took the part of Exhibitions and Festivals at the Künstlerbahnhof Westend (Karl-Hofer Society/UdK, Berlin), the British National Film Theatre (BFI Southbank, London), Finnish National Gallery (Helsinki) and the Martin-Gropius-Bau (Berlin), to name but a few examples.

She has also been involved in OIO since December 2006, an artistic collaborative endeavour with the Greek composer and pianist Antonis Anissegos. Projects in recent years include “„deflection – rasenjo no jikan”, a performance and audiovisual installation at the Kyoto Art Centre (Japan, 2005), the experimental video “deflection” (2005) at the Experimental Video Film Festival EXIS 06 (Seoul), Media Art Festival (Friesland, NL), 20th Instans Video Festival (Marseille, FR) and transmediale 07 (Berlin), as well as the audiovisual improvisation „session“ (2007) at B-Flat (Berlin) and Gesellschaft/Ort e.V. (Wuppertal).
OIO cooperated with Japanese artist Kyota Takahashi on the “trans+ O” project in 2007 and has continually worked on a project by the name of “still/silent” at the following exhibitions and festivals: GlogauAIR (Berlin), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), Arttransponder (Berlin, 2007), Espai Niu/Hangar (Barcelona, 2008), Palazzo Pesaro Papafava (Venice, 2009) and the Experimental Video & Film Festival EXiS (Seoul, 2009).

In 2010, the project "still/silent" was continued with the jazz composer and bassist Chris Dahlgren (OIO expand) unter the program "OSTRALE'010" - International Exhibition of Contemporary Arts in OSTRALE (Center for Contemporary Art, Dresden) in Dresden, and in 2010 OIO solo by Erika Matsunami was performed at the Katalog presentation "still/silent" in the gallery weisser elefant in Berlin.

 

Her work is regularly represented in exhibitions, performances and festivals. CV_PDF

Vita

CV_PDF

 
 

Erika Matsunami geboren 1963 in Hiroshima, Japan, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland.

Sie nahm zum ersten Mal im Alter von drei Jahren traditionellen japanischen Tanzunterricht bei Fujima, Toshika (Fuhjma-Ryu, japanischer traditioneller Tanzverband) und später bei Hanayagi, Masatoyo (Hanayagi-Ryu, japanischer traditioneller Tanzverband/der Gründer/Choreograf/Künstler Hanayai, Juske (1821–1903) im Jahr 1849). 1984 legte sie erfolgreich ihre Tanzprüfung bei Hanayagi-ryu ab und erhielt den Künstlernamen „Hanayagi, Hosenyu“ (auf Japanisch Natori-mei). In der Zeit von 1982–1984 studierte sie Bildhauerei bei Prof. Hisashi Akutagawa (Professor für Bildhauerei, Tokyo), u.a. an der Hijiyama-Universität, Fakultät Bildende Kunst in Hiroshima (Japan), wo sie von 1984–1986 an einer Forschungsstudie in Bildhauerei/Plastik (advanced courses) unter Prof. Hisashi Akutagawa teilnahm und auch als künstlerisch tätig war, z.B. bei Prof. Masanami Yoshida für Bildhauerei. In dieser Zeit war sie Mitglied in dem Künstlerverband Shinseisaku kyokai Hiroshima für (Neue) Bildende Kunst im Bereich Bildhauerei. Nachdem sie in Europa angekommen war, studierte sie zunächst Deutsch an der Universität Wien in Österreich, anschließend studierte sie von 1992–1995 freie Künste am Fachbereich Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin (Berlin University of the Arts) (Kulturpädagogische Arbeitsstelle für Weiterbildung – Ästhetische Erziehung / Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften/Institut für Kunst im Kontext). 1997 graduierte sie dort in Bildender Kunst unter der Betreuung von Katharina Jedermann und Wolfgang Knapp .

Link Autor: Matsunami, Erika

 

In der Zeit von 2009–2010 war Erika Matsunami die Gasthörerschaft für die künstlerische akademische Weiterbildung (Gasthöerschaft, die ist eine spezifische Form der Weiterbildung an der Universität sowie Hochschule.) bei Prof. Dr. Martin Supper, Komponist, Wissenschaftler und Leiter des Masterstudiengangs Sound Studies – Akustische Kommunikation am ZIW der UdK Berlin und Leiter des UNI.K – UdK l Studio für Klangkunst und Klangforschung an der Fakultät Musik an der Universität der Künste Berlin, UdK (Berlin University of the Arts). Anschließend studierte sie Musikwissenschaft für die künstlerische akademische Weiterbildung von 2011–2012 kontinuierlich bei Prof. Dr. Martin Supper, UNI.K – UdK I Studio für Klangkunst und Klangforschung (Musikwissenschaft), Fakultät Musik an der Universität der Künste Berlin.

Erika Matsunami arbeitet mit einem transdisziplinären Ansatz in verschiedenen Bereichen der Künste und mit verschiedenen Medien, wie z.B. Performance, Video- und Klang-Kunst, Fotografie, Mixed-Media- und Rauminstallationen. Seit 2000 produziert und entwickelt sie experimentelle Videos, Performances und Rauminstallationen. Zwischen 2000–2004 erstellte sie Performances, Choreografien, Inszenierungen und Videos für das Berliner Theater-Projekt „Thikwa“. Sie beteiligte sich an zahlreichen Projekten und Ausstellungen, an Tanz- und Bewegungs-Performances sowie an Festivals des Theaters Thikwa. Ihre Arbeit wurde regelmäßig in Ausstellungen, Performances und auf Festivals präsentiert, wie beispielsweise im Künstlerbahnhof Westend (Karl-Hofer-Gesellschaft/UdK, Berlin), am britischen National Film Theatre (BFI Southbank, London), bei der Finnish National Gallery (Helsinki) und im Martin-Gropius-Bau (Berlin).


Seit Dezember 2006 ist sie involviert in OIO, einer künstlerischen Zusammenarbeit mit dem griechischen Komponisten und Pianisten Antonis Anissegos. Folgende Projekte und Veranstaltungen wurden von ihr durchgeführt: das Projekt „deflection – rasenjo no jikan“ – Performance und audiovisuelle Installation im Kyoto Art Centre (Japan 2005) und das experimentelle Video „deflection“ (2005) beim Experimental Video Film Festival EXIS 06 (Seoul), Media Art Festival (Friesland, NL), 20th Instants Video Festival (Marseille, FR) und der transmediale 07 (Berlin) sowie die audiovisuelle Improvisation „session“ (2007) im b-flat (Berlin) und bei der Gesellschaft/Ort e.V. (Wuppertal).

Das Projekt „trans+ O“ wurde von OIO in Zusammenarbeit mit dem japanischen Künstler Kyota Takahashi im Jahr 2007 durchgeführt. Sie arbeitete kontinuierlich am Projekt namens „still/silent“ an folgenden Veranstaltungsorten: GlogauAIR (Berlin), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), Arttransponder (Berlin, 2007), Espai Niu/Hangar (Barcelona, 2008), Palazzo Pesaro Papafava (Venedig, 2009) und Experimental Video & Film Festival EXiS (Seoul, 2009).

 

Seit 2008 ist Matsunami Mitglied der GEDOK (Verband der Gemeinschaften der Künstlerinnen und Kunstförderer e.V.) / IGBK (Internationale Gesellschaft der Bildenden Künste) in Deutschland.

Ein paar Beispiele der beteiligten Ausstelluneng: Teile ihres Projekts „B.O.D.Y.“ (2000–2009), einer Video-, Performance-, Fotografie-, Mixed-Media-Installation, wurden gezeigt auf den Ausstellungen „unbeschreiblich weiblich“ im Kunstforum der GEDOK in Hamburg und „o.T. Wer die Wahl hat“ im Verborgenen Museum in Berlin (2009). Das Projekt „B.O.D.Y.“ (2000–2010) wurde bei der von Dr. Birgit Möckel kuratierten Ausstellung „Positionen 1960–2010. 50 Jahre GEDOK Berlin“ („GEDOK Berlin 1960–2010 Positionen der Gegenwart“) im Kunstraum Bethanien, Berlin, 22.10. – 28.11.2010) präsentiert. Ihre Arbeit wird regelmäßig in Ausstellungen, Performances und auf Festivals repräsentiert.