Artist Statement  
 

Since 2013 I have been concentrating more and more on artistic research / artistic research as well as current knowledge from the transdisciplinary approach (cross-discipline approach). In ongoing projects, I deal with a philosophical topic of aesthetics theoretically and practically in terms of artistic methods and techniques and which topic is related to cognitive science, psychology and neuroscience, especially in neuroscience in terms of biology and transdisciplinarity various disciplines is explored, for example, the topic "pain" in the project, such as the project "B.O.D.Y. - そ し て, そ れ ら work _work in progress (2016-2018)".

In the written component, various theories of art and science are considered as essential definitions of art in the context of art philosophy as well as (neo-) representation theory in art. This written component is reflected in the artistic results or conceived as an artistic project in the reflection of the social context. In the artistic phase, I develop my own approach in art theories, which combines with current science.

In my artistic work I implement autobiographical experiences such as motifs and subjects into an artistic context, in which I encounter in my social environment and create the projects using the media of photography, video, sound, mixed media, performance (as well as live art) and (spatial-) installation on a visual and/or auditory level.

Examples of current work are the project "B.O.D.Y. - そ し て, そ れ か ら (201 –-) work in progress", the sound „B.O.D.Y. - piece of glass" (re-version of 2013 – 2014), the sound „B.O.D.Y. - two lines" (2016 –) and the project "N.N - Zwischenliegend (2015 –) ".

The field of my artistic research is in visual and sound arts, thus I primarily work with the site-specific installation. Auditory work in the installation is a kind of secondary space and time which is not synchronized. That is probably topological manifold toward visual space.

 

Sound research:

"Nature, according to Aristotle, is an inner principle of change and being at rest" (Physics 2.1, 192b20-23) (quote: Aristotle's Natural Philosophy First published Fri May 26, 2006; substantive revision Mon Jan 8, 2018). The topic "Nature" is the starting point of my sound research, since I work on the project "deflection" and the following project "transformation". I still learn and discover through sound what "nature" is. My field of research is interdisciplinary, involving both physics, neuroscience and psychology as well as insights into auditory and visual perception and memory in cognitive neuroscience. An example of my sound work are the sound sketches from the silent/silent project on the subject of "auditory memory" from my childhood, in which sounds are musically translated and a computer program with new technology and sound synthesis offers a broad sound spectrum and variations or new ones Possibilities of implementation. Current research focuses on the topics "Possibility of experimentation in / between electroacoustic music and other arts, after the digital revolution" (EMS18 - 14th Conference).

 

Works until 2013:

In my visual and audio works as well as in my mixed media spatial installations sensual perception – seeing and hearing, but also the touch of the material – is an important part of the means of expression.

Examples of my work include the projects “still/silent” (2007 –) and “B.O.D.Y.” (2000 –). “still/silent” (2007 – 2011) was conceived in collaboration with the composer and pianist Antonis Anissegos (up to 2009) and the sound engineer Niklas Schmincke and was continued in 2010 onward with the Jazz composer and bassist Chris Dahlgren. Within the project entitled B.O.D.Y. (2010) in collaboration with the sound engineer Niklas Schmincke there is a wall installation that consists of sounds (sound compositions) and photographies of skin and body parts. The sound is audible as a synthesized rhythm of the body via headphones, which intensifies the auditive impression and connects it to the optical perception of the piece. In the Project "B.O.D.Y." knowingly and willingly I've been dealing with the subject "time, space and body" since 2000 for the long term.

 

An important part of my work is “uniqueness” insofar as a each time is once – in my performances as well as in the live art of location specific installations – for every encounter with a space or location is a unique event that arises from the divers possibilities of the elements such that a new perpective on the works and the context in which they stand is created/presented themselvs.

 

With my audiovisual works I challenge the norms of photography, of video or film respectively and of sound; I use these media in my performances as well as in my live art and connect them in mixed media spatial installations. The photographies and drawings on super-8-film are digitally finished to create an experimental video. By using a kinetic language I create abstract moving images and thus point to the half forgotten often unnoticed interspaces in my environment.

 

The core of the spatial installation is the artistic ordering of the imaginary and the symbolic, this order is created by the context of the project and the artistic arrangement of the material and the sounds and audio phenomena in the respective space. Photography also plays a very important role for me and in my works, I often examine the method formalism.

 

According to Nelson Goodman’s thesis, the aim and purpose of art and science is the same: cognisance, i.e. insight as the (selecting, sorting, construing) organisation of knowledge. In this sense, the essence of science and art is equally “cognitive”, its quality “cognitive excellence”. (Franz Koppe: Kunst als entäußerte Weise, die Welt zu sehen. Zu Nelson Goodman und Arthur C. Danto in weitergehender Absicht. In: Franz Koppe (Ed.) Perspektiven der Kunstphilosophie. Texte und Diskussionen; Frankfurt am Main, 2nd edition, 1993.)

 

(Stand: 2018 December)

Artist Statement

 

 
 

Seit 2013 konzentriere ich mich immer stärker auf die Artistic Research/künstlerische Forschung sowie auf aktuelles Wissen aus dem Ansatz der Transdisziplinarität (cross-discipline approach). In fortlaufenden Projekten setze ich mich mittels künstlerischer Methoden und Techniken theoretisch und praktisch mit einem philosophischen Thema aus der Ästhetik auseinander, das in Zusammenhang mit der Kognitionswissenschaft, Psychologie und Neurowissenschaft steht und das insbesondere in der Neurowissenschaft im Hinblick auf den Bereich der Biologie sowie transdisziplinär von verschiedenen Disziplinen erforscht wird, bspw. das Thema „Schmerz“ im Projekt, sowie das Projekt „B.O.D.Y. – そして、それから_work in progress (2016–2018)".

In der schriftlichen Komponente werden verschiedene Theorien von Kunst und Wissenschaft als essenzielle Definitionen von Kunst im Kontext der Kunstphilosophie wie der (Neo-)Repräsentationstheorie in der Kunst betrachtet. Diese schriftliche Komponente werden in den künstlerischen Ergebnissen reflektiert oder als künstlerisches Projekt in der Reflexion des sozialen Kontextes konzipiert. Dabei entwickle ich in der künstlerischen Phase meinen eigenen Ansatz in den Kunsttheorien, der sich mit dem aktuellen Wissen verbindet.

 

In meiner künstlerischen Arbeit setze ich autobiografische Erfahrungen sowie Motive und Themen, denen ich in meinem sozialen Umfeld begegne, in einen künstlerischen Kontext um und kreiere damit Projekte unter Verwendung der Medien Fotografie, Video, Klang, Mixed Media, Performance (sowie Live-Art) und (Raum)Installation auf visueller und/oder auditiver Ebene.

Beispiele für aktuelle Arbeiten sind das Projekt „B.O.D.Y. – そして、それから (2014 –) work in progress“, der Klang „B.O.D.Y. - piece of glass" (re-version von 2013 – 2014), der Klang „B.O.D.Y. - two lines" (2016 –) und das Projekt „N.N - Zwischenliegend (2015–)“.

Mein künstlerissches Forschungsfeld ist in den Bildende- und Klang Kunsten, somit arbeite ich vornehmlich mit der ortspezifischen Installation. Auditive Arbeit in der Installation ist eine Art von zweitem Raum und Zeit, die nicht synchronisiert wird. Das ist wahrscheinliche topologische Mannigfaltigkeit in Bezug auf den visuellen Raum.

 

Klang-Forschung:

„Nature, according to Aristotle, is an inner principle of change and being at rest“ (Physics 2.1, 192b20–23) (Zitat: Aristotle's Natural Philosophy First published Fri May 26, 2006; substantive revision Mon Jan 8, 2018). Das Thema „Nature“ ist der Ausgangspunkt meiner Klang-Forschung, seitdem ich an dem Projekt „deflection“ und dem daran anschließenden Projekt „transformation“ arbeite. Ich lerne und entdecke immer noch durch den Klang, was „Nature“ ist. Mein Forschungsgebiet ist dabei interdisziplinär, es bezieht sowohl Physik, Neurowissenschaft und Psychologie als auch Erkenntnisse zu auditiver und visueller Wahrnehmung und Memory in der kognitiven Neurowissenschaft ein. Ein Beispiel meiner Klang-Arbeit sind die Sound-Skizzen aus dem Projekt still/silent zum Thema „auditive Erinnerung“ aus meiner Kindheit, darin werden Klänge musikalisch umgesetzt und ein Computerprogramm mit neuer Technik sowie Sound Synthesis bietet ein breites Klangspektrum und Variationen bzw. neue Möglichkeiten der Umsetzung. Die aktuelle Forschung fokussiert die Themen auf den Aufsatz „Possibility of experimentation in/between electroacoustic music and other arts, after the digital revolution“ (EMS18 – 14th Conference).

 

Arbeiten bis 2013:

Bei den visuellen und auditiven Arbeiten sowie bei den Mixed-Media-Rauminstallationen ist die Sinneswahrnehmung – Sehen und Hören, aber auch das Spüren des Materials – ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Ausdrucksformen. Beispiele meiner Arbeiten sind die Projekte „still/silent“ (2007–) und „B.O.D.Y.“ (2000–). Das Projekt „still/silent“ (2007– 2011) entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten und Pianisten Antonis Anissegos (bis 2009) und dem Tonmeister Niklas Schmincke und wurde 2010 mit dem Jazz-Komponisten und Bassisten Chris Dahlgren fortgeführt. Innerhalb des Projekts B.O.D.Y. (2010) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tonmeister Niklas Schmincke gibt es eine Wandinstallation bestehend aus Sound (Klang-Komposition) und Fotografien von Haut und Körperteilen. Der Sound ist als synthetisierter Ton des Körperrhythmus über Kopfhörer zu hören, wodurch die Intensität des Höreindrucks verstärkt und mit der optischen Wahrnehmung verbunden wird. Im Projekt „B.O.D.Y.“ setze ich mich langfristig, seit 2000, wissentlich und willentlich mit dem Thema „Raum, Zeit und Körper“ auseinander.

 

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil meiner Arbeit ist „uniqueness", Einmaligkeit, Einzigkeit – und zwar sowohl bei meiner Performance als auch bei der Live-Art der ortsspezifischen Installation –, denn jede Begegnung mit einem Raum oder einem Ort ist ein einzigartiges Ereignis, das sich aus den verschiedenen Möglichkeiten der Elemente ergibt, sodass sich eine neue Perspektive auf die Werke und den Kontext, in dem sie stehen, eröffnet.

 

Mit den audiovisuellen Arbeiten fordere ich die Normen der Fotografie, des Videos bzw. des Films und des Sounds heraus; ich verwende diese Medien in der Performance sowie in der Live-Art und verknüpfe sie in Mixed-Media-Rauminstallationen. Die Fotografien und Zeichnungen auf Super-8-Film werden digital bearbeitet, um ein experimentelles Video zu schaffen; durch eine kinetische Sprache werden dabei abstrakte bewegte Bilder (Moving Images) erzeugt, und so werden halb vergessene, häufig unbemerkte Zwischenräume in meiner Umgebung deutlich gemacht.

 

Der Kern der Rauminstallation ist die künstlerische Ordnung des Imaginären und des Symbolischen; diese Ordnung entsteht durch den Kontext des Projekts und die künstlerische Gestaltung mit dem Material und den Klängen und Klangphänomenen im jeweiligen Raum. Ich arbeite intensiv an Themen, die sich zwischen optischer Wahrnehmung und Imagination, zwischen fotografischer Abbildung sowie Darstellung und Vorstellung bewegen. Fotografie ist ein sehr wichtiger Bestandteil in meiner Kunst. Dadurch spielt die Fotografie auch eine sehr wichtige Rolle in meinen Werken, ähnlich wie meine Zeichnungen ist sie ein Prozess der Gedanken, um die Betrachtung und die unbewusste Wahrnehmung als Darstellungsform zu konstruieren. Generell beschäftige ich mich mit dem Thema „Formen, Farbe, Licht und Schatten“. Dabei setze ich mich methodisch mit dem Formalismus auseinander.

 

„Nach Nelson Goodmans These sind Sinn und Zweck von Kunst und Wissenschaft gleich. Beider Ziel sei Erkenntnis. Und zwar Erkenntnis als (selegierende, sortierende, konstruierende) Organisation von Wissen. In diesem Sinne ist das Wesen von Wissenschaft und Kunst gleichermaßen >kognitiv<, ihre Qualität >kognitive Vortrefflichkeit<.“ (Franz Koppe: Kunst als entäußerte Weise, die Welt zu sehen. Zu Nelson Goodman und Arthur C. Danto in weitergehender Absicht. In: ders. (Hrsg.): Perspektiven der Kunstphilosophie. Texte und Diskussionen; Frankfurt/M., 2. Aufl. 1993)

 

(Stand: Dezember 2018)